Best Docking Stations with Built-In KVM Switch (2026)
Docking Stations

Best Docking Stations with Built-In KVM Switch (2026)

Nine docking stations with a real built-in KVM switch — compared by host topology, KVM-mode display ceilings, EDID behavior, charging limits and macOS support.

Updated September 12, 2026
26 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

Most docking stations cannot switch between two computers. That is the first thing to know before spending anything on a "docking station with KVM switch." CalDigit's TS5 and TS4, Anker's 575 and 777, Dell's WD19S and WD22TB4, Lenovo's Universal Thunderbolt 4 Dock, the UGREEN Revodok range, Kensington's SD-series and most of Plugable's lineup are single-host docks — one cable in, one computer attached. Pair one of those with a second machine and you are back to moving a cable or bolting an external switch onto the desk. The CalDigit buyer's guide walks through why those docks are built the way they are; this guide is about the products that genuinely switch two machines from one chassis.

The real category splits into two architectures. Symmetric two-laptop docks take two full-featured USB-C host connections and charge both machines — the AV Access iDock C20, Cable Matters 201075, IOGEAR Dock Pro Duo and StarTech 129N live here. Asymmetric laptop-plus-desktop docks give the laptop one USB-C cable and hand the desktop dedicated HDMI and DisplayPort paths with their own bandwidth — the AV Access B10, B23, M10 and KD-E10, plus the TESmart HDC202-X24, are built this way. If one of your two computers is a gaming or workstation tower with a 144Hz-plus monitor, the asymmetric design is usually the better answer, because a tower's display output has no business travelling through USB-C MST or a driver-based video path.

What separates the picks below is not port count. It is whether the KVM sits inside the dock, what both hosts can actually drive while switched, whether the inactive computer keeps seeing its monitors, how much power reaches the machine you are not using, and whether the whole thing needs a driver installed before it will show a picture.

This guide is for the work-laptop-plus-personal-desktop desk, the two-laptop remote worker, and anyone who wants monitors, keyboard, mouse, webcam, Ethernet and audio to follow a single button press.

As an Amazon Associate, DockGearHQ earns from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

Pick Best for Hosts KVM-mode ceiling
AV Access iDock C20 Best overall two-laptop KVM dock 2× USB-C 2× 4K60 (Windows)
AV Access iDock M10 Best for a MacBook plus a desktop Dual USB-C Mac + desktop HDMI/DP 2× 4K60 on supported Macs
AV Access iDock B10 Best for a laptop plus a gaming tower USB-C laptop + desktop HDMI/DP Desktop path up to 8K60 / 4K165-class
IOGEAR Dock Pro Duo GUD3CDHTAA Best dual-laptop charging 2× USB-C 3 displays (2× DP 4K60 + HDMI)
StarTech 129N-USBC-KVM-DOCK Best for base Apple Silicon Macs 2× USB-C 2× 4K60 (DisplayLink)
Cable Matters 201075 Best value dual-USB-C dock 2× USB-C 2× 4K60 Windows / 1 extended on macOS
AV Access iDock B23 Best three-monitor workstation dock USB-C laptop + desktop DP/HDMI Desktop 3 displays / laptop 2× 4K60 + 1× 4K30
AV Access KD-E10 Best budget KVM dock USB-C laptop + desktop HDMI/DP 2× 4K60 (Windows)
TESmart HDC202-X24 Best hotkey and remote switching TB/USB-C host + DP/HDMI host 2× 4K60

What Makes a Great KVM Docking Station?

Nine things decide whether a KVM dock works on a real desk, and only the first is about marketing copy.

  • The KVM is inside the chassis. Not a dock plus a separate switch box, not a software-only "share" mode. One unit, one power supply, one set of cables.
  • Host topology matches your computers. Symmetric two-USB-C for two laptops; asymmetric USB-C-plus-native-video for a laptop and a desktop.
  • The switched-display ceiling, not the headline ceiling. What both hosts can drive in KVM mode is the number that matters, and it is often lower than the spec sheet's best case.
  • EDID handling. With EDID emulation, the inactive computer keeps seeing a monitor, so windows stay put and resolution is not renegotiated on every switch. Without it, switching behaves like unplugging and replugging a display.
  • Charging for the host you are not using. Some docks charge both computers; some charge only the selected one; some charge the active host at full speed and the idle host at half.
  • Driver dependence. Native USB-C/DisplayPort Alt Mode and Thunderbolt need nothing installed. DisplayLink needs a driver and elevated permissions — a hard blocker on locked-down corporate machines.
  • macOS behavior, spelled out. Four different architectures produce four different macOS outcomes.
  • Port completeness. Ethernet, card readers, audio and enough USB for a webcam and a headset. Some KVM docks stop at switching and forget the "docking station" half.
  • Current availability. KVM docks are a small niche where a two-year-old model can still be the current one, and a "successor" can sit on preorder for months.

Docking Stations That Are Not KVM Docks

This is where most buying mistakes happen, because the words "dock" and "KVM" appear on the same page more often than they should.

Plugable sells a USB sharing switch as a separate box and states that it does not offer the equivalent switch for its USB-C and Thunderbolt docks. CalDigit's TS4 support material explains how to attach an external KVM rather than how to switch hosts inside the dock. Anker does have genuine KVM designs, but the 554 that carried that functionality is sold out — the prominent 5xx and 7xx standard docks should not be treated as dual-host products, and the Anker dock guide covers that lineup on its own terms. No current UGREEN Revodok model is documented as a two-host KVM dock; UGREEN sells KVM switches separately. Lenovo's ThinkPad Universal Thunderbolt 4 Dock, Dell's WD19S and WD22TB4, the current Kensington SD-series, OWC's Thunderbolt docks and the Baseus range fall on the same side of the line: they share peripherals or displays, but they do not switch two physical host inputs.

OWC's Thunderbolt Share deserves one clarification. It enables software-based PC-to-PC workflows that feel like a digital KVM, but it is not a dock containing hardware display and peripheral switching between two host inputs. Different product, different job.

If you already own a good single-host dock and only need the switching, the smarter path is a standalone dual-monitor switch rather than replacing the dock.

How to Read a "Dual 4K" Claim

Two docks can both print "dual 4K" and behave completely differently.

On a Windows host, USB-C with MST breaks a single DisplayPort stream into two independent extended desktops. On macOS, the same hardware mirrors, or collapses to one external desktop, because macOS does not expose MST as multiple extended displays. That is an operating-system behaviour, not a defect of any one dock, and it affects the iDock C20, B10, B23, KD-E10, Cable Matters 201075 and the Anker 554 identically.

DisplayLink sidesteps the problem by generating displays in software, which is how StarTech's 129N and part of IOGEAR's display topology deliver multiple extended desktops even on base M-series Macs. The cost is a driver, Screen Recording permission on macOS, and millisecond-level latency versus native video.

A third route is native dual-path: AV Access's M10 takes two physical USB-C video connections from the MacBook instead of one. Video stays native and no driver is needed, but the dock occupies two laptop ports — and it still cannot exceed the number of external displays the Mac's own chip exposes.

The fourth is leaving video in the host's native Thunderbolt domain, which is what Sabrent's SB-TB4K does.

What Switches, and What Doesn't

Two expectations cause almost every "my KVM dock is broken" report.

The first is USB re-enumeration. Switching hosts re-attaches the entire USB device tree to the new computer, exactly as if you had unplugged a hub and moved it. A webcam, an external SSD or an Ethernet adapter can take a moment to come back, and that pause is normal architecture, not a fault.

The second is Bluetooth. A keyboard paired directly to Computer A does not travel through the KVM to Computer B. Hardware hotkey switching requires the keyboard to be attached to the KVM's shared HID USB path; Bluetooth keyboards need a shared USB receiver or their own multi-device pairing. A dock that supports hotkeys will not save you from a Bluetooth-paired board.

1. AV Access iDock C20 — The Cleanest Two-Laptop KVM Dock

Quick verdict: The C20 is the only dock here that treats both computers identically. Two full-featured USB-C host inputs, 60W to each at the same time, hardware switching with no driver, and EDID emulation so the idle machine keeps seeing its monitors. On Windows it drives two 4K60 displays from either host. On a Mac, that same pair mirrors.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated 2×1 hardware switch, front-panel control plus AV Access's EXB01 wired remote; no switching software
  • Hosts: 2 × full-featured USB-C (DisplayPort Alt Mode) laptops
  • Displays in KVM mode: 2 × HDMI, dual 4K60 on Windows; 1440p144 and 1080p240-class modes; 3440×1440 ultrawide at 60Hz; 5120×1440 runs bandwidth-constrained rather than at full native
  • macOS: the two outputs mirror instead of extending, per the USB-C MST limitation
  • EDID: emulation, so an inactive host does not lose its monitor identity
  • Ports: 2× HDMI, USB-C 5Gbps, 2× USB-A 5Gbps, 4× USB-A 2.0, Gigabit Ethernet, SD, 3.5mm audio
  • Charging: 60W to each host simultaneously
  • Current generation: launched January 29, 2024 and still the current two-laptop C-series design

Pros: symmetric hosts and symmetric charging; EDID emulation; no driver to install; wired remote suits an under-desk build; ultrawide support at 60Hz.

Cons: macOS mirrors; the four USB 2.0-class ports are for peripherals, not fast storage; 5120×1440 does not run full native; no DisplayLink fallback if you need multiple extended desktops on a base Mac.

Perfect for: a work laptop and a personal laptop sharing two monitors, one keyboard, one mouse and wired Ethernet, with both machines staying charged.

Check price on Amazon

2. AV Access iDock M10 — The MacBook + Desktop Answer

Quick verdict: The M10 solves the Mac multi-display problem without a driver. The laptop side uses two physical USB-C connections to obtain two native display streams, and the desktop side gets dedicated HDMI/DisplayPort video plus USB. That dual-cable host path is not an accessory — it is the reason the dock can feed two monitors natively on a Mac.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated, front-panel control plus wired remote support; no DisplayLink or KVM software
  • Hosts: one MacBook/laptop via a dual-USB-C path, one desktop via native HDMI/DisplayPort plus USB upstream
  • Displays in KVM mode: dual HDMI up to 2× 4K60, on compatible Mac hardware and on the desktop path
  • macOS: output count depends on the M-series chip — base M1/M2 systems remain limited to one independently extended external monitor regardless of the extra cable
  • EDID: supported, preserving monitor state across host changes
  • Ports: dual HDMI, multiple 10Gbps/5Gbps USB-C and USB-A ports, Gigabit Ethernet, SD, audio
  • Charging: up to 100W to the laptop
  • Current generation: announced June 27, 2025, shipping since summer 2025

Pros: native video on macOS with no driver install; 100W laptop charging; EDID handling; a published per-chip Mac compatibility matrix, which is more than most vendors offer.

Cons: the Mac side consumes two USB-C ports; downstream USB device charging is modest; base M1/M2 Macs still cannot extend to a second independent display; premium tier.

Perfect for: a MacBook plus a Windows or Linux desktop on one desk, where the Mac must drive dual native monitors without DisplayLink in the picture.

Check price on Amazon

3. AV Access iDock B10 — Built for a Laptop and a Gaming Tower

Quick verdict: The B10 gives a desktop a much wider video highway than any USB-C path can offer, while the laptop still arrives on a single cable. If the second computer is a tower with a 1440p-or-4K high-refresh monitor, this is the topology to want — the desktop keeps its native DisplayPort/HDMI behaviour instead of being funnelled through MST.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated, physical chassis control plus wired remote; no host software
  • Hosts: one USB-C laptop plus one desktop using HDMI + DisplayPort + USB
  • Laptop path: up to dual 4K60, with single-display high-resolution/high-refresh modes including 4K120 and 5120×1440 up to 120Hz where bandwidth permits
  • Desktop path: substantially higher bandwidth, advertised for configurations reaching 8K60 or 4K165, with G-Sync/FreeSync-class high-refresh support
  • macOS: the laptop side relies on MST, so additional outputs mirror
  • EDID: no emulation — switching behaves like a monitor disconnect and reconnect
  • Ports: HDMI + DisplayPort outputs, USB-C and USB-A downstream, Gigabit Ethernet, SDXC, 3.5mm audio
  • Charging: up to 100W on the USB-C laptop path
  • Current generation: announced June 12, 2025

Pros: preserves desktop-grade bandwidth and refresh rates; single-cable laptop docking with 100W charging; remote control for under-desk mounting; handles VRR-class gaming displays on the desktop side.

Cons: no EDID emulation, so window rearrangement after switching is a real risk; macOS mirrors on the laptop path; the announced B12 successor adds 2.5GbE but has not started shipping, so it does not replace the B10 yet.

Perfect for: a work laptop on one side and a gaming or high-refresh desktop on the other, especially where the tower's monitor matters more than the laptop's.

Check price on Amazon

4. IOGEAR Dock Pro Duo (GUD3CDHTAA) — Full Power to Both Laptops

Quick verdict: Nothing else here charges two laptops as hard. IOGEAR feeds 100W to each attached USB-C host simultaneously from a 230W supply, and the display side adds a third screen through a mix of native and DisplayLink outputs.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated hardware host switching with hotkey support; the DisplayLink outputs need a driver, but switching itself does not
  • Hosts: 2 × USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 computers
  • Displays in KVM mode: up to 3 — 2 × DisplayPort through DisplayLink at 4K60, plus one native HDMI/DP-Alt Mode path. IOGEAR's own documentation quotes that HDMI path at both 4K30 and 4K60, so treat the two DisplayPort outputs as the reliable 4K60 pair
  • macOS: DisplayLink can deliver multiple independent extended displays where ordinary USB-C MST cannot, subject to driver installation and permissions
  • Ports: HDMI, 2× DisplayPort, 2× USB-A 2.0, 2× USB-A 10Gbps, USB-C 10Gbps, Gigabit Ethernet, microphone and headphone jacks
  • Charging: 100W to each of two hosts simultaneously, on a 230W power supply
  • Model: current GUD3CDHTAA, dating from the 2022–2023 period, still sold

Pros: the strongest simultaneous charging in the group; three displays; hotkey switching; a native HDMI path that behaves better than the DisplayLink outputs for latency-sensitive work.

Cons: DisplayLink Manager is mandatory for the two DisplayPort outputs and can be blocked on managed Macs; the DisplayLink path adds noticeable lag in graphics-heavy work; the HDMI resolution documented inconsistently.

Perfect for: two laptops that both need to stay fully charged, with a third monitor in the mix and no restriction on installing drivers.

Check price on Amazon

5. StarTech 129N-USBC-KVM-DOCK — The DisplayLink Route for Base Macs

Quick verdict: Architecturally, this is one of the few genuine two-host docks that can give a base-model Apple Silicon Mac multiple independently extended external displays — precisely what MST-only docks cannot do. The price of admission is DisplayLink software on every computer that connects.

Specs

  • KVM: hardware host switch on the dock; optional StarTechLink software adds hotkey switching on Windows and macOS, but the physical KVM does not depend on it, and StarTechLink hotkeys are not offered on Linux
  • Hosts: 2 × USB-C computers
  • Displays in KVM mode: 2 × DisplayPort, up to 4096×2160 at 60Hz each through DisplayLink
  • macOS: multiple independent extended displays on base M-series Macs via DisplayLink — install and permission required
  • Not a Thunderbolt dock: it attaches to Thunderbolt USB-C hosts, but the host interface and display architecture are USB-C plus DisplayLink
  • Ports: 2× DisplayPort, 2× USB-A 2.0/HID-oriented, 2× USB-A 10Gbps, USB-C 10Gbps downstream, Gigabit Ethernet, separate speaker and microphone jacks
  • Charging: up to 90W to the active host and 45W to the inactive host, from a 180W adapter
  • Current generation: initial availability April 2023, no direct successor identified

Pros: multiple extended displays on base Apple Silicon Macs; asymmetric charging keeps the idle machine topped up; DisplayLink Certified; a docking-station port set rather than just a switch.

Cons: DisplayLink Manager is mandatory and is a hard blocker on locked-down corporate Macs; another DisplayLink install on the second computer too; the architecture is not Thunderbolt.

Perfect for: two laptops, at least one a base-model Mac, where you control what software gets installed and need real extended desktops on both.

Check price on Amazon

6. Cable Matters 201075 — The Value Pick That Still Switches Two Hosts

Quick verdict: A genuine dual-host dock with a chassis switch and an RF remote, no DisplayLink anywhere, and enough USB and card-reader connectivity to justify the "docking station" label. It is also the clearest example of what EDID emulation is worth: this dock does not have it.

Specs

  • KVM: chassis switch plus RF remote; no host-side KVM software
  • Hosts: 2 × full-featured USB-C with DisplayPort Alt Mode — a desktop USB-C port that carries data only is not equivalent
  • Displays in KVM mode: HDMI + DisplayPort. Windows: dual 4K60, or a single display up to 8K30 over DisplayPort with a properly rated cable. macOS: one independently extended external monitor up to 4K60, with the second output mirroring
  • EDID: none, and no VRR/G-Sync/FreeSync support
  • Ports: six USB-A plus a downstream USB-C, SD and microSD readers, 3.5mm audio
  • Charging: up to 100W to one laptop, or up to 65W to each when both are attached
  • Firmware: updates are published, and the updater requires a suitable Windows DisplayPort-Alt-Mode host
  • Current generation: current model 201075, first available February 2023

Pros: no driver dependency; dual-host switching plus a real port complement; RF remote; 65W to each laptop when both are connected.

Cons: no EDID emulation, so displays effectively disappear from one machine during a switch and windows move; the second macOS display mirrors; 5120×1440-class ultrawides and gaming variable refresh are out of scope.

Perfect for: two Windows laptops on a budget, in a desk where window position matters less than the price of a 4K60 dual-display setup.

Check price on Amazon

7. AV Access iDock B23 — Three Monitors, One Switch

Quick verdict: The B23 is the three-screen member of the family, and it inherits the B10's core virtue: the desktop keeps a very high-bandwidth video path while the laptop arrives over a single USB-C cable. It also inherits the B10's biggest weakness — no EDID emulation, which stings more with three monitors than with two.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated, chassis control plus the EXB01 wired remote; no KVM application required
  • Hosts: one USB-C laptop plus one desktop using 2 × DisplayPort + HDMI + USB
  • Displays in KVM mode: up to 3
  • Desktop path: very-high-bandwidth configurations advertised up to 8K60 / 4K165 depending on monitor count and link configuration
  • Laptop path on Windows: up to 2 × 4K60 plus one additional 4K30 display
  • macOS: the laptop side depends on MST, so extra outputs mirror
  • EDID: no emulation — a full three-screen disconnect and reconnect can move windows
  • Ports: 2× DisplayPort + HDMI outputs, USB-C and USB-A peripherals, Gigabit Ethernet, SD reader, audio
  • Charging: up to 100W to the USB-C laptop
  • Current generation: launched May 27, 2026

Pros: three displays with one button; desktop-grade video bandwidth for high-refresh work; 100W laptop charging; supports a Windows desktop plus a Linux or macOS work laptop simultaneously.

Cons: no EDID emulation; macOS mirrors on the laptop side; high-refresh modes make cable quality matter — AV Access specifies properly rated HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 1.4a/2.0 cabling, and marginal cables show up as flicker or blanking.

Perfect for: a three-monitor workstation shared between a desktop and a single-cable laptop, where the desktop drives the demanding screens.

Check price on Amazon

8. AV Access KD-E10 — The Budget KVM Dock That Keeps EDID

Quick verdict: EDID emulation at this price is the headline. The KD-E10 keeps monitor identity stable across host changes — something far more expensive docks here do not do — and needs no driver at all. What it does not do is hotkeys, and its charging arrangement expects you to bring your own laptop power adapter.

Specs

  • KVM: physical button switching only; AV Access confirms the KD-E10 does not support keyboard hotkey switching
  • Hosts: one USB-C laptop plus one desktop using HDMI + DisplayPort + USB-B
  • Displays in KVM mode: dual HDMI. Windows supports dual 4K60; lower-resolution modes include 1440p144 and 1080p240; ultrawide up to 3440×1440 at 60Hz, with 5120×1440 not running full native
  • macOS: the additional display mirrors because of MST
  • EDID: yes — a meaningful advantage in the budget tier
  • Compatibility: no DisplayLink, so nothing to install on a managed machine
  • Ports: dual HDMI output, USB-C 5Gbps, 3× USB-A 5Gbps, 2× USB-A 2.0, SDXC, 3.5mm audio, Gigabit Ethernet — note that the Ethernet path serves the laptop side only
  • Charging: up to 100W, but the dock's own supply is not the laptop's PD source; a separate USB-C laptop adapter must be connected
  • Firmware: V1.0.6 addressed a case where the wrong machine could wake after switching
  • Current generation: launched April 7, 2025

Pros: EDID emulation at the lowest price in this group; no driver requirement; dual 4K60 on Windows; a genuine desktop video path for the tower.

Cons: no hotkey switching — you press the button; Ethernet reaches the laptop only; full laptop charging needs an external power adapter; macOS mirrors the second output.

Perfect for: a laptop-plus-desktop desk on a tight budget where window positions and driver-free operation matter more than hotkeys.

Check price on Amazon

9. TESmart HDC202-X24 — Hotkeys, Remote and a 40Gbps Host Path

Quick verdict: The X24 switches four different ways — button, hotkey, IR remote and mouse-wheel — and gives its Thunderbolt-side host a 40Gbps expansion connection. It is also the pick with the most caveats to read before buying, starting with the fact that it is Thunderbolt-compatible, not Thunderbolt-certified.

Specs

  • KVM: integrated, front-panel button, keyboard hotkey, IR remote and mouse-wheel switching; no dedicated application
  • Hosts: PC1 accepts Thunderbolt 3/4/5 or compatible full-featured USB-C; PC2 uses DisplayPort or HDMI plus a USB upstream connection
  • Displays in KVM mode: dual HDMI up to 4K60, with 1440p120 and 1080p240 lower-resolution high-refresh modes
  • EDID: emulation on the display paths
  • Charging: up to 60W to PC1 only; the desktop-side host receives no laptop-style power delivery
  • Expansion: a downstream 40Gbps connection belongs to PC1 and is not switched between hosts
  • Ports: dual HDMI outputs, 10Gbps-class shared USB, Gigabit Ethernet, audio, PC1 high-speed expansion
  • Certification: accepts Thunderbolt hosts but is not Intel Thunderbolt certified; TESmart states certification is in progress
  • Availability: limited direct stock

Pros: four switching methods including a real remote; EDID emulation; Thunderbolt-class bandwidth on the primary host plus 40Gbps expansion; dual 4K60 with high-refresh options.

Cons: the desktop-side host is not charged; the 40Gbps expansion stays with PC1; hotkey recognition depends on how the keyboard reaches the KVM, so Bluetooth-paired boards and generic wireless receivers may not trigger it; certification is pending.

Perfect for: a Thunderbolt laptop plus a desktop, where hotkey or remote switching and a fast expansion path matter more than charging both machines.

Check price on Amazon

Three More Genuine KVM Setups With Narrower Scope

These are real single-box KVM products, not docks-plus-a-switch. They sit outside the ranked nine because each one is materially narrower than the picks above — not because anything about them is fake.

Cable Matters 201478 is a true two-host switch/dock for the exact setup "two laptops, one monitor, keyboard and mouse." It drives a single HDMI display at 4K60, lacks Ethernet, card reader and analog audio, and charges one laptop at 100W or roughly 85W to each of two from its 180W supply. Optional Cable Matters software adds Ctrl-Ctrl keyboard switching on Windows and macOS, with the usual accessibility permissions on the Mac side. Two USB4 20Gbps-class host cables and an RF remote are included. If you need only one screen and no wired network, it is one of the cleanest matches for that brief.

Sabrent SB-TB4K is a genuine dual-host Thunderbolt 4 KVM hub: 3 × downstream Thunderbolt 4 at 40Gbps plus 4 × USB-A 10Gbps, dual 4K60 or a single display up to 8K60 with DSC. It has no Ethernet, no dedicated HDMI/DisplayPort, no audio jack and no card reader, charges only the active host at up to 60W, and uses EDID passthrough rather than emulation. Sabrent's own warning is unusually blunt: use it with Thunderbolt-certified hosts and certified cables. Switch latency is the point to internalise — reports range from a few seconds with Apple displays to north of twenty seconds for dual 4K recovery, because Thunderbolt rediscovery and display link training set the pace. There is no fixed switch time to promise.

Anker 554 A83K1 is the genuine Anker KVM dock, and it is sold out. It offers dual-host USB-C switching via a magnetic wired remote, dual 4K60 on Windows, a mirrored 4K30-class dual-output mode on macOS, 100W to one laptop or 65W to each of two, plus HDMI, DisplayPort, USB and audio. It is useful mainly as proof that Anker's KVM branch exists and is separate from its standard dock lineup. Treat it as a used-market possibility, not a purchase plan.

Comparison Table

Product KVM architecture Hosts Max displays in KVM mode EDID Charging macOS path Best for
AV Access iDock C20 Integrated, dual USB-C 2 laptops 2× 4K60 (Windows) Emulation 60W × 2 Mirrors Two symmetric laptops
AV Access iDock M10 Integrated, dual-path Mac MacBook + desktop 2× 4K60 on supported Macs Emulation 100W laptop Native dual-path MacBook + desktop
AV Access iDock B10 Integrated hybrid Laptop + desktop Desktop 8K60/4K165-class; laptop 2× 4K60 None 100W laptop Mirrors (MST) Laptop + gaming tower
IOGEAR Dock Pro Duo Integrated + DisplayLink 2 laptops 3 (2× DP 4K60 + HDMI) Not specified 100W × 2 DisplayLink Maximum dual-host charging
StarTech 129N Integrated + DisplayLink 2 laptops 2× 4K60 Not specified 90W active / 45W idle DisplayLink Base Apple Silicon Macs
Cable Matters 201075 Integrated, dual USB-C 2 laptops 2× 4K60 Windows / 1 extended macOS None 100W one / 65W each Mirrors (MST) Budget dual-host value
AV Access iDock B23 Integrated hybrid Laptop + desktop Desktop 3; laptop 2× 4K60 + 1× 4K30 None 100W laptop Mirrors (MST) Three-monitor workstation
AV Access KD-E10 Integrated hybrid Laptop + desktop 2× 4K60 (Windows) Emulation 100W, external adapter Mirrors (MST) Budget with EDID
TESmart HDC202-X24 Integrated hybrid TB/USB-C + DP/HDMI 2× 4K60 Emulation 60W PC1 only Mirrors (MST) Hotkey and remote switching

Which KVM Docking Station Should You Buy?

Two laptops, two monitors, Windows: the AV Access iDock C20. Symmetric hosts, symmetric 60W charging, EDID emulation and no driver, which is the least fragile version of this desk.

Two laptops, at least one a base-model Mac, and you need genuinely extended desktops on both: the StarTech 129N — provided you can install DisplayLink Manager on both machines. If your Mac is managed and locked down, that route is closed and the M10 is the alternative, subject to your chip supporting two external displays.

A MacBook plus a desktop: the AV Access iDock M10 if native Mac video without a driver is the priority, or the KD-E10 if the budget is tighter and you accept mirrored output on the Mac's second screen.

A laptop plus a gaming tower with a 144Hz-plus monitor: the AV Access iDock B10, or the B23 if the tower drives three screens. The desktop's native DisplayPort/HDMI path is the entire reason to choose this architecture — do not force a high-refresh gaming monitor through USB-C MST or DisplayLink.

Two laptops that must both stay at full charge: the IOGEAR Dock Pro Duo at 100W each, with the DisplayLink driver caveat accepted.

One Thunderbolt laptop plus a desktop, with hotkey or remote switching: the TESmart HDC202-X24, after checking both that your keyboard reaches the KVM over USB HID and that pending certification is not a requirement for you.

You already own a dock you like: do not replace it. Add a standalone dual-monitor KVM instead. And if you are starting over entirely on the single-host side — Mac-specific desks or a full brand comparison — the Mac dock roundup and the Plugable dock guide cover the non-KVM half of the market.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Do docking stations have built-in KVM switches?

Most do not. CalDigit's TS5 and TS4, Anker's 575, 777 and 568, Dell's WD19S and WD22TB4, Lenovo's Universal Thunderbolt 4 Dock and the UGREEN Revodok range are single-host docks — one computer, one cable. Using one with two machines means adding an external KVM switch or moving cables by hand.

Q: Can a KVM dock extend two monitors on a Mac?

It depends on the architecture, not the brand. USB-C MST docks mirror or collapse to one external desktop on macOS, which affects the C20, B10, B23, KD-E10, Cable Matters 201075 and Anker 554. DisplayLink docks can produce multiple extended displays even on base M-series Macs, at the cost of a driver and a permission prompt. AV Access's M10 takes two native USB-C video paths instead, and Sabrent's SB-TB4K keeps video in the host's Thunderbolt domain.

Q: What is EDID emulation and why does it matter on a KVM dock?

EDID emulation keeps the inactive computer convinced that a monitor is still attached. Without it, switching hosts looks exactly like unplugging a display: the desktop temporarily collapses, windows move, and resolution is renegotiated when you switch back. The C20, M10, KD-E10 and TESmart X24 provide emulation. Cable Matters 201075, the B10 and the B23 do not. Sabrent's SB-TB4K uses EDID passthrough rather than true emulation.

Q: Does a KVM dock charge both computers?

Not always, and the differences are large. IOGEAR charges 100W to each of two laptops simultaneously. Cable Matters 201478 reaches roughly 85W to each; Cable Matters 201075 and the Anker 554 split to 65W each; the C20 gives 60W each. StarTech supplies 90W to the active host and 45W to the idle one. Sabrent and TESmart charge only the selected or primary host. Hybrid laptop-plus-desktop docks generally charge the laptop only.

Q: Will my Bluetooth keyboard switch with the KVM?

No. A keyboard paired directly to one computer does not travel through the KVM to the other. Hotkeys require the keyboard to be plugged into the KVM's shared HID USB path; Bluetooth boards need a shared USB receiver or their own multi-device pairing. This is why some KVM docks advertise hotkeys that a particular desk still cannot use.

Q: Why do my displays go black or my peripherals drop after switching?

Two normal reasons. First, USB devices re-enumerate on every switch, exactly as if you had moved a hub between computers — a webcam, SSD or Ethernet adapter can take a moment to return. Second, docks without EDID emulation make the display chain retrain, which is also where marginal cables show up. Use the manufacturer-supplied host cables first and prefer rated HDMI 2.1 or DisplayPort 1.4a/2.0 cabling for high-refresh modes.

Q: Can I use a Thunderbolt KVM dock with a plain USB-C laptop?

Sometimes, with caveats. The TESmart HDC202-X24 accepts full-featured USB-C on its primary host input but is not Intel Thunderbolt certified. Sabrent's SB-TB4K specifically warns that uncertified host hardware can misbehave and recommends certified Thunderbolt systems and cables. If neither computer is genuinely Thunderbolt-certified, a native USB-C dock is the safer purchase.

Q: Should I buy a KVM dock or a separate dock plus a KVM switch?

If you already own a dock you like, add a standalone KVM switch — it is cheaper than replacing everything and usually more capable on the switching side. Buy an integrated KVM dock when you want one power supply, one chassis and one cable per computer, or when your port budget on the desk is the limiting factor.

Conclusion

The KVM dock market rewards one behaviour above all: checking what both computers can drive while switched, not what the spec sheet's best case claims. Architectures that look identical on a product page — "dual 4K," "two computers," "one cable" — behave completely differently once macOS MST, DisplayLink drivers, EDID loss and asymmetric charging enter the picture.

For most desks, the AV Access iDock C20 is the safest starting point because it treats both machines the same way and keeps monitor identity stable without software. When one of the two computers is a Mac, the iDock M10 is the version that avoids the driver question entirely by taking two native video paths. When the second computer is a gaming tower, the iDock B10 or B23 preserve desktop-grade bandwidth that no USB-C path can match. And when both computers are laptops with a strict budget, the KD-E10 keeps EDID emulation in play at the lowest price in the group.

Worth reading next: the dual-monitor KVM switch guide if you would rather keep your current dock and switch externally, the CalDigit dock guide for full-size Thunderbolt docking without switching, and the Mac dock roundup if your whole desk is Apple.

→ Check the current price of the AV Access iDock C20 on Amazon

Share:

You might also like