Best Docking Stations & Hubs with Ethernet Ports (2026)
Docking Stations

Best Docking Stations & Hubs with Ethernet Ports (2026)

Compare the best USB-C hubs and docking stations with Ethernet in 2026: 1GbE, 2.5GbE and 10GbE options, native vs DisplayLink displays, and power delivery.

Updated September 12, 2026
24 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

A wired connection fixes video calls, large file transfers and remote-desktop sessions at the same time, which is why an Ethernet port sits near the top of the checklist for anyone building a laptop desk — even when the product name never mentions it. If the vocabulary is still new, the complete beginner's guide to docking stations separates a hub, a dock and a port replicator before you spend anything.

Shopping for Ethernet is harder than it looks, because search results blend two genuinely different products. A bus-powered USB-C hub adds wired networking, one monitor, a few USB ports and charging passthrough in something that fits a jacket pocket. A powered docking station does the same job for a fixed desk, with higher laptop charging, several displays, more USB bandwidth and — increasingly — 2.5GbE or 10GbE networking. Treating them as interchangeable is how a pocket hub ends up on a desk that needed 100W of charging, or how a 10GbE workstation dock gets bought by someone whose router tops out at Gigabit.

This guide separates the two classes instead of pretending they solve the same problem, and it judges every pick on the specifications that actually govern Ethernet: the link tier, the controller behind it, whether the display path is native or software-driven, how much of the incoming charger reaches the laptop, and how the network link behaves after the machine wakes from sleep.

Eight models made the shortlist, from a compact 6-in-1 hub up to a 10GbE Thunderbolt 5 workstation dock. Each entry names the exact model and revision, because several of these product families have older versions still circulating under nearly identical names.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick Picks

Pick Class Ethernet Display path Host charging
UGREEN Revodok Pro 1061 (45364) Bus-powered hub 1GbE 1× HDMI 4K60, native ~85W (from 100W PD)
Anker 555 (A8383) Bus-powered hub 1GbE 1× HDMI 4K60, native ~85W (from 100W PD)
Plugable USBC-10IN1E Bus-powered hub 2.5GbE (RTL8156) 1× HDMI 2.1, native up to 125W (from 140W PD)
Plugable UD-ULTC4K V2 Powered dock 1GbE 3 displays, DisplayLink up to 100W
Anker Prime DL7400 (A83B3) Powered dock 2.5GbE 3 displays, DisplayLink up to 140W
CalDigit TS4 Powered dock 2.5GbE Native up to dual display 98W
OWC Thunderbolt 5 Dock (11-port) Powered dock 2.5GbE (RTL8156B) Native, TB/USB-C outputs 140W
CalDigit TS5 Plus Powered dock 10GbE Native, DP 2.1 + TB5 140W

What Makes a Great Ethernet Hub or Dock?

Six things decide whether the Ethernet port on a hub or dock is worth having. None of them appear in the marketing headline.

The Ethernet tier, and whether the rest of the network can feed it. 1GbE, 2.5GbE and 10GbE describe the physical link rate, not the throughput you will measure. A 1GbE port negotiates a 1,000Mbps link, and real payload throughput is lower once protocol overhead, hub architecture, CPU load and simultaneous USB or video traffic are accounted for. The same logic runs the other way: a 10GbE dock connected to a Gigabit router still moves data at Gigabit speed. Moving to 2.5GbE or 10GbE only pays off when the switch, the NAS or the workstation on the other end can exceed 1Gbps too.

The controller, because it determines driver behaviour. Realtek's RTL8156 family is the common 2.5GbE choice in current hardware and is recognised by modern macOS and Windows without a manual install. 10GbE is a different story: the AQC113-class controller used in workstation docks requires the vendor's driver on Windows before the port initialises at all. Where a manufacturer publishes the controller, this guide names it; where it doesn't, this guide stays silent rather than guessing.

Shared bandwidth, not per-port bandwidth. A hub advertised as "10Gbps" shares that single upstream budget among every USB port and the Ethernet port at once. Thunderbolt is better but not unlimited: a Thunderbolt 4 link is a 40Gbps aggregate that carries tunnelled PCIe, USB and DisplayPort traffic together, and docks route internal controllers into shared groups. Two fast SSDs plus a 2.5GbE transfer will not each run at their standalone maximum.

How the display path is built. There are three possibilities and they are not interchangeable. Native DisplayPort Alt Mode and Thunderbolt displays are driven by the host GPU and are capped by the host's display engines. MST lets Windows split one DisplayPort stream into independent extended desktops; macOS does not extend across MST and mirrors instead. DisplayLink creates software virtual displays that can exceed a host's native display count, but requires DisplayLink Manager — and on macOS, Screen Recording permission — while adding compression, latency and HDCP limitations on its outputs. "Supports three monitors" means nothing until you know which of the three mechanisms produces them. The Thunderbolt 4 vs USB4 comparison covers how those links allocate bandwidth.

Power delivery overhead. A hub rated for 100W PD input does not hand 100W to the laptop. Compact hubs reserve roughly 15W for their own operation, which is why a 100W charger typically produces about 85W at the host. A 140W PD 3.1 EPR input on a newer hub can deliver around 125W to a compatible laptop — but only if the charger and cable actually supply 140W.

Sleep/wake behaviour. This is the specification nobody prints. Ethernet ports in premium docks have a documented pattern of disappearing, renegotiating down to a low link speed, or breaking long-lived SSH and NAS sessions after the host resumes from sleep. It is a multi-component handshake involving host firmware, dock firmware, cable and switch, and it affects individual units rather than entire product lines. Update firmware and OS first, then test cable and switch port, then reconnect or power-cycle, then escalate.

#1 UGREEN Revodok Pro 1061 (45364) — Best Budget Hub

The Revodok Pro 1061 is a 6-in-1 bus-powered hub built around one HDMI output, one Gigabit RJ45 port and three fast USB ports. UGREEN's current revision, SKU 45364, is the version to check for — the current specification is a 10Gbps-class hub with 4K60 video, and older descriptions of this family still appear in listings.

Specs

  • Class: bus-powered USB-C hub, aluminum enclosure
  • Ethernet: 1× RJ45, Gigabit (up to 1Gbps)
  • Video: 1× HDMI, up to 4K60 on hosts supporting DP 1.4
  • USB: 1× USB-C at 10Gbps, 2× USB-A at 10Gbps
  • Charging: USB-C PD input up to 100W, approximately 85W delivered to the host
  • Displays: one external monitor
  • Display path: native DisplayPort Alt Mode conversion, no DisplayLink software
  • Warranty: 24 months

Pros

  • Full 10Gbps USB data on all three downstream ports, unusual at the budget tier
  • HDMI 4K60 rather than the 4K30 still common on entry hubs
  • Works without a charger attached; external PD is optional unless you need laptop charging

Cons

  • One external display only
  • No card reader, no audio jack
  • Video output requires a host USB-C port that supports DP Alt Mode
  • High-refresh monitors are better served by a direct USB-C or DisplayPort path

Verdict: the cheapest way to add a real Gigabit link plus 10Gbps USB data to a laptop, with no software to install and no display limits to work around beyond the host's own.

Perfect for: students and budget buyers who need wired networking, one monitor and fast external storage from a single port.

Check price on Amazon

#2 Anker 555 (A8383) — Best Proven Portable Gigabit Hub

The Anker 555 is an 8-in-1 hub — hardware model A8383, sold under submodel A83830A1 — that adds card readers and Gigabit Ethernet to the same one-display formula. Its documentation dates to 2020, which makes it one of the longest-running designs on this list rather than a newest-generation part.

Specs

  • Class: bus-powered USB-C hub
  • Ethernet: 1× Gigabit RJ45
  • Video: 1× HDMI, up to 4K60 on DP 1.4 hosts; lower limits on DP 1.2 hosts
  • USB: 1× USB-C data at 10Gbps, 2× USB-A at 10Gbps
  • Card readers: SD and microSD, UHS-I
  • Charging: 100W PD input, approximately 85W to the host
  • Displays: one external monitor; the downstream USB-C data port carries no video
  • Dimensions and weight: approximately 4.76 × 2.17 × 0.60 inches, under 114g depending on regional specification
  • Display path: native, no DisplayLink

Pros

  • SD and microSD readers included at the portable tier
  • Native single-display output, so there is no driver stack to break after an OS update
  • Fixed upstream cable cannot be left behind

Cons

  • The fixed host cable is a single point of failure
  • One display only, and no way to add a second without DisplayLink
  • The aluminum-and-polycarbonate chassis runs warm under sustained load

Verdict: the safest portable pick for anyone who wants a Gigabit port, card readers and 10Gbps USB without a driver or a display limit to think about. The warm chassis is normal for a passively cooled hub; only repeat disconnects or network drops are a genuine warning sign.

Perfect for: photographers, field engineers and anyone who moves between desks and needs wired networking plus card access from one brick.

Check price on Amazon

#3 Plugable USBC-10IN1E — Best Portable 2.5GbE Hub

Launched in April 2026, the USBC-10IN1E is the only portable hub on this list with 2.5GbE networking, and it pairs that with the highest power delivery of any bus-powered unit here. Plugable publishes the Ethernet controller — Realtek RTL8156 — which is why it is named above; drivers are not needed on current macOS or Windows, though Plugable and Realtek both offer an explicit driver path for troubleshooting.

Specs

  • Class: bus-powered USB-C hub
  • Host link: USB-C USB 3.2 Gen 2, 10Gbps, with DisplayPort Alt Mode
  • Ethernet: 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8156 controller
  • Video: 1× HDMI 2.1, host-dependent up to 8K30 or 4K144
  • USB: 2× USB-C 10Gbps data-only, 1× USB-A 10Gbps, 2× USB-A 5Gbps
  • Card readers: SD and microSD UHS-I, GL3224 controller, ~104MB/s class
  • Charging: up to 140W USB PD 3.1 EPR input, ~15W internal reserve, up to 125W to the host from a 140W source, roughly 85W from a 100W source
  • Dimensions and weight: approximately 0.6 × 1.3 × 8.5 inches, ~109g
  • OS support: current Windows, macOS and ChromeOS
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • 2.5GbE in a pocket-sized, charger-free footprint
  • Highest host charging of any hub here when paired with a 140W PD 3.1 source
  • Two USB-C data ports, which most travel hubs still omit
  • Native display output, no DisplayLink software

Cons

  • One display only
  • Every downstream port and the Ethernet link share a single 10Gbps USB budget
  • The 140W charger is not included, and 125W host delivery depends on having one
  • Recent launch, so the multi-year reliability picture is thinner than for older docks

Verdict: a specialist pick rather than a default. Buy it if portable 2.5GbE plus high-wattage charging is the whole point; if 1GbE and 85W are enough, the Anker 555 or the UGREEN 1061 costs less and does the same job for a normal broadband connection.

Perfect for: travelling professionals who move large files between a laptop and a 2.5GbE-capable NAS or office network.

Check price on Amazon

#4 Plugable UD-ULTC4K V2 — Best Triple-Display DisplayLink Dock

This is the model where revision discipline matters most. The original UD-ULTC4K dates to 2017; the current Version 2 was introduced in June 2022 and remains the active revision. Older reviews of the V1 describe different hardware and should not be read as evaluations of what ships today.

Specs

  • Class: powered desktop dock, USB-C host at USB 3.2 Gen 2-class 10Gbps
  • Ethernet: 1× Gigabit RJ45, associated with the DisplayLink DL-6950 platform
  • Display connectors: three output groups, each offering HDMI or DisplayPort — six physical sockets, maximum three simultaneous displays
  • Maximum advertised mode: up to triple 4K on compatible systems
  • Display architecture: one native DP Alt Mode path plus DisplayLink-driven virtual display paths
  • USB: 4× USB-A 5Gbps, 1× front USB-C 10Gbps with approximately 20W peripheral charging
  • Also: SD reader, separate audio connections
  • Host charging: up to 100W nominal, 96W-class certified delivery depending on implementation
  • Included 135W external power adapter
  • Dimensions and weight: approximately 20 × 7.3 × 13.6cm, ~624g
  • Warranty: 2 years
  • DisplayLink software required for the DisplayLink-driven outputs

Pros

  • Three extended external displays on hosts whose GPU cannot drive them natively, including base M-series Macs
  • One native path alongside the software paths, so at least one monitor avoids DisplayLink entirely
  • Powered chassis with a 135W supply and a front high-power USB-C port

Cons

  • DisplayLink outputs carry HDCP limitations, which rules the dock out for some protected-content workflows
  • macOS requires Screen Recording permission for DisplayLink Manager
  • Six physical video sockets invite the assumption of six screens; three is the ceiling
  • Adds compression and latency compared with a native Thunderbolt display path

Verdict: the right tool when monitor count is the problem and a native dock cannot solve it. If the Mac already drives the displays you need natively, a Thunderbolt dock is the cleaner answer — no driver, no permissions, no HDCP caveat.

Perfect for: base Apple Silicon users and Windows triple-monitor desks that need three independent extended desktops from one cable.

Check price on Amazon

#5 Anker Prime DL7400 (A83B3) — Best High-Power DisplayLink Dock

The Anker Prime 14-in-1 moves the same DisplayLink idea to a powered 2.5GbE desk dock with 140W of host charging. The triple-4K60 claim rests on the DisplayLink architecture, not on three native GPU display paths — Anker states plainly that DisplayLink adds latency, which matters for gaming and other latency-sensitive work.

Specs

  • Class: powered desktop dock, USB-C 10Gbps-class host link
  • Ethernet: 2.5GbE
  • Video outputs: 1× DisplayPort advertised up to 8K60 in supported single-display configurations; 2× HDMI advertised up to 8K30 single-output; up to three 4K60 external monitors through DisplayLink on supported hosts
  • USB: 2× USB-C up to 10Gbps with high-power charging support, an additional USB-C at 5Gbps, multiple USB-A at 5Gbps plus a USB 2.0-class port
  • Also: SD and microSD, audio
  • Host charging: up to 140W in supported PD configurations
  • Power: integrated high-output supply with active, fan-assisted cooling — this is a desk dock, not a bus-powered hub
  • DisplayLink driver required; macOS requires the standard DisplayLink permissions

Pros

  • 2.5GbE and 140W host charging in the same chassis
  • Triple 4K60 output on hosts that cannot drive three native displays
  • Two 10Gbps USB-C ports with charging support, not just data

Cons

  • Active cooling means a fan, which is a real consideration for a quiet desk
  • DisplayLink latency and compression apply to every virtual display
  • Requires DisplayLink Manager, and macOS Screen Recording permission with it
  • The DisplayLink stack is one more component that a major OS update can break

Verdict: the highest-power way to get three displays off a laptop that cannot drive them natively, with 2.5GbE attached. It is not the cleanest Mac dock — that title belongs to a native Thunderbolt unit — but it is the strongest all-rounder when display count is non-negotiable.

Perfect for: Windows desks and base Apple Silicon Macs running three 4K monitors plus a 2.5GbE network.

Check price on Amazon

#6 CalDigit TS4 — Best Overall Thunderbolt 4 Dock

Introduced in February 2022 and still a flagship-grade Thunderbolt 4 dock, the TS4 is the mature answer for anyone whose Mac or Thunderbolt PC already drives the displays they need. There is no DisplayLink anywhere in it: every monitor is a native GPU/DisplayPort path.

Specs

  • Class: powered desktop Thunderbolt 4 dock; fallback compatibility includes suitable Thunderbolt 3, USB4 and some USB-C hosts with feature limitations
  • Ethernet: 2.5GbE
  • Full 2.5GbE operation requires a Thunderbolt or suitable USB4 host with the necessary PCIe capability — plain USB-C fallback does not deliver every TS4 feature
  • Video: 1× DisplayPort 1.4, plus 2× downstream Thunderbolt 4 ports usable for USB-C or Thunderbolt displays and adapters
  • Displays: up to dual-display output on suitably capable hosts; 8K-class output in supported single-display configurations
  • USB: 3× USB-C at 10Gbps, 5× USB-A at 10Gbps
  • Also: UHS-II SD and microSD readers, multiple audio ports
  • Host charging: 98W
  • Included 230W power supply
  • Dimensions and weight: approximately 141 × 42 × 113mm, ~0.64kg
  • Warranty: 2 years
  • No DisplayLink requirement

Pros

  • 2.5GbE with a documented PCIe-tunnelling requirement, which is exactly the kind of detail that prevents a failed purchase
  • UHS-II card readers — twice the bus speed of the UHS-I readers on most hubs here
  • Native display output only, so HDCP playback, gaming latency and OS updates are all non-issues
  • 98W host charging from a 230W supply, with downstream Thunderbolt ports at 15W each

Cons

  • Dual-display ceiling on most hosts; it cannot manufacture extra displays the way DisplayLink can
  • Requires a Thunderbolt or USB4 host to reach its full specification
  • 2.5GbE rather than 10GbE, so it is not the NAS-workstation pick

Verdict: the reference point for this entire category. Native display paths, 2.5GbE, UHS-II readers and 98W of charging, with no driver stack in the middle of your video pipeline. USB ports and internal controllers share bandwidth groups, and the whole dock still traverses one 40Gbps host link — that is a property of the standard, not a shortcoming of this unit.

Perfect for: MacBook Pro and Thunderbolt PC owners building a fixed desk who want wired networking without software in the display path.

Check price on Amazon

#7 OWC Thunderbolt 5 Dock (11-Port, OWCTB5DOCK11P) — Best Fanless Thunderbolt 5

OWC's 11-port Thunderbolt 5 dock takes the native-path philosophy to the newer standard: a Thunderbolt 5 host connection plus three downstream Thunderbolt 5 ports, a fanless aluminum chassis, and a disclosed Ethernet controller — Realtek RTL8156B — which OWC identifies in its support material and for which it provides the matching Windows driver.

Specs

  • Class: powered desktop Thunderbolt 5 dock, part number OWCTB5DOCK11P
  • Thunderbolt: 1× host TB5 plus 3× downstream Thunderbolt 5
  • Ethernet: 2.5GbE, Realtek RTL8156B controller; OWC provides the corresponding Windows network driver
  • USB: 2× USB-A at 10Gbps, 1× USB-A at 5Gbps
  • Card readers: UHS-II SD and microSD
  • Also: audio
  • Host charging: up to 140W
  • Cooling: fanless aluminum enclosure
  • Included Thunderbolt cable
  • Display connections are primarily through downstream Thunderbolt/USB-C rather than dedicated HDMI sockets; OWC advertises very high multi-display configurations including three 8K-class displays, all of which remain host- and GPU-dependent
  • Host support: compatible Thunderbolt 5, Thunderbolt 4, Thunderbolt 3, USB4 and USB-C systems, with the usual fallback limitations
  • Warranty: 2 years

Pros

  • 140W host charging with a completely silent, fanless chassis
  • Three downstream Thunderbolt 5 ports, each capable of carrying display or high-bandwidth peripheral traffic
  • Disclosed Ethernet controller with a published Windows driver path
  • UHS-II card readers

Cons

  • No dedicated HDMI or DisplayPort sockets — displays attach through downstream Thunderbolt or USB-C, which sometimes means an adapter
  • Multi-display ceilings depend entirely on the host GPU, not the dock
  • Listings for this model have been less consistently stocked than mainstream CalDigit and Plugable docks

Verdict: the quietest route to Thunderbolt 5 networking and charging. Fanless does not mean cold — a passively cooled chassis uses its body as a heatsink during sustained 140W charging and heavy transfers. What matters is whether heat correlates with disconnects or link degradation, not whether the case feels warm.

Perfect for: silent-desk Mac and PC workstations that want TB5 headroom, 2.5GbE and zero fan noise.

Check price on Amazon

#8 CalDigit TS5 Plus — Best 10GbE Workstation Dock

The TS5 Plus is the one dock here built around multi-gigabit networking rather than treating Ethernet as an add-on. Announced April 7, 2025, it carries a 10GbE port, a Thunderbolt 5 host link at 80Gbps bidirectional with up to 120Gbps Bandwidth Boost for display-heavy traffic, and 140W of host charging from a 330W supply across 20 ports.

Specs

  • Class: powered Thunderbolt 5 workstation dock
  • Thunderbolt: 1× host TB5, 2× downstream TB5
  • Ethernet: 10GbE with the vendor's controller family; CalDigit's official support path requires the TS5 Plus 10GbE driver on Windows
  • 10GbE requires the appropriate PCIe-capable host path
  • Video: 1× DisplayPort 2.1
  • USB: 5× USB-C at 10Gbps, 5× USB-A at 10Gbps, driven by two independent 10Gbps USB controllers
  • Card readers: UHS-II SD and microSD
  • Also: audio
  • Host charging: 140W, maintained while peripherals draw power
  • Included 330W power supply
  • Warranty: 2 years
  • Host requirements: recent macOS (current official material specifies macOS 15+); Windows 11-era Thunderbolt 4/5 systems — Windows Thunderbolt 3 PCs are not supported; USB4 fallback requires PCIe tunnelling support
  • ChromeOS: not supported, as no driver exists for the 10GbE chipset

Pros

  • Integrated 10GbE — the only pick here that does not need an external adapter for multi-gigabit networking
  • 140W host charging that holds under load, backed by a 330W supply
  • Two independent 10Gbps USB controllers rather than one shared pool
  • DisplayPort 2.1 plus two downstream TB5 ports

Cons

  • 10GbE only returns value if the switch, NAS or server on the other end can exceed 1Gbps
  • Windows requires the CalDigit 10GbE driver before the port initialises
  • Excludes Windows Thunderbolt 3 hosts outright
  • Users have reported 10GbE disconnects and device instability; firmware 64.1 included Thunderbolt 5 link-stability improvements that resolved the issue for some owners and not others
  • Runs hot under sustained load, and airflow around the chassis matters

Verdict: a genuine workstation dock rather than a laptop accessory, and the only model here where you should read the compatibility requirements before the specifications. Install the current firmware before diagnosing anything, install the Windows Ethernet driver, and test 10GbE with real large-file transfers or iperf rather than an internet speed test. If your network is Gigabit, the TS4 does more of what you actually need for less.

Perfect for: video editors, developers and NAS owners moving multi-gigabyte files between machines over a 10GbE backbone.

Check price on Amazon

Comparison Table

Model Class Ethernet Controller Display architecture Displays Host charging Host requirement
UGREEN Revodok Pro 1061 (45364) Hub 1GbE Not disclosed Native DP Alt Mode 1 (4K60) ~85W USB-C with DP Alt Mode
Anker 555 (A8383) Hub 1GbE Not disclosed Native DP Alt Mode 1 (4K60) ~85W USB-C with DP Alt Mode
Plugable USBC-10IN1E Hub 2.5GbE Realtek RTL8156 Native DP Alt Mode 1 (8K30/4K144 host-dep.) up to 125W USB-C 10Gbps with DP Alt Mode
Plugable UD-ULTC4K V2 Powered dock 1GbE DL-6950 platform Native + DisplayLink 3, up to triple 4K up to 100W USB-C 10Gbps
Anker Prime DL7400 (A83B3) Powered dock 2.5GbE Not disclosed DisplayLink 3, up to triple 4K60 up to 140W USB-C 10Gbps
CalDigit TS4 Powered dock 2.5GbE Not disclosed Native TB4/DP up to 2 (8K-class single) 98W Thunderbolt 3/4/USB4 with PCIe
OWC Thunderbolt 5 Dock Powered dock 2.5GbE Realtek RTL8156B Native TB5 Host/GPU dependent 140W Thunderbolt 5/4/3, USB4
CalDigit TS5 Plus Powered dock 10GbE Vendor 10GbE driver required Native TB5/DP 2.1 Host/GPU dependent 140W macOS 15+ / Windows TB4-TB5

Which Ethernet Hub or Dock Should You Buy?

If you just need a wired port at the lowest cost: the UGREEN Revodok Pro 1061. Gigabit Ethernet, HDMI 4K60 and three 10Gbps USB ports, no software, no external power supply required.

If you want the safest portable hub: the Anker 555. Same one-display, one-Gigabit formula with SD and microSD readers added, and a design that has been in the market since 2020.

If your network already exceeds Gigabit: the Plugable USBC-10IN1E. It is the only portable hub here with 2.5GbE, and it delivers up to 125W to a compatible laptop from a 140W PD 3.1 charger — which you supply separately.

If your laptop cannot drive the monitors you own: the Plugable UD-ULTC4K V2 for three 4K screens on a budget, or the Anker Prime DL7400 if you also want 2.5GbE and 140W charging and can accept a fan. Both use DisplayLink, so plan for the driver, the macOS permission and the HDCP limitation.

If your machine already supports the displays you need: the CalDigit TS4 remains the best all-rounder. Native display paths, 2.5GbE, UHS-II readers, 98W charging and no driver stack. Read the dual-monitor docking station guide if you are matching a dock to a specific monitor pair.

If your desk sits on a 10GbE backbone: the CalDigit TS5 Plus. Nothing else here has an integrated 10GbE port, and nothing else demands as much attention to host compatibility, drivers and firmware.

A note on the 10GbE question, because it gets oversold. A 10GbE dock does not make an internet connection faster. It matters when large files move between machines — video projects over a NAS, virtual machines on a shared server, backups measured in terabytes. For browsing, video calls and cloud storage, a 1GbE port on a hub that charges the laptop properly is the better allocation of budget.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Do USB-C hubs and docks with Ethernet need a driver?

Gigabit and 2.5GbE adapters built on Realtek-class controllers are recognised by current macOS and Windows without a manual install, and Windows can usually retrieve the driver automatically for the 2.5GbE RTL8156 family. The exception is 10GbE: CalDigit's TS5 Plus requires its 10GbE driver on Windows before the port initialises, and the same class of controller generally needs an explicit driver install. On macOS, no 10GbE driver is required for the TS5 Plus.

Q: Why does Ethernet drop or slow down after the laptop wakes from sleep?

Resuming from sleep renegotiates the whole chain — host firmware, dock firmware, USB or Thunderbolt link, Ethernet PHY, cable and switch. Failures range from the adapter disappearing entirely to a link renegotiating at a fraction of its rated speed, and long-lived SSH or NAS sessions often break while ordinary browsing still appears fine. Update the host BIOS or Thunderbolt firmware and the OS first, check energy-saving network settings, swap the cable and the switch port, then reconnect or power-cycle the dock. Persistent drops after all of that are a support case, not something to live with.

Q: Will a hub with Ethernet give my MacBook two independent external monitors?

Not by itself. On macOS, docks that split a single DisplayPort stream through MST mirror their outputs instead of extending them. Native DisplayPort Alt Mode hubs are capped by the Mac's own display engines, and a dock cannot raise a limit the GPU does not support. Only DisplayLink breaks that ceiling, by creating software virtual displays — with the driver, permission and HDCP trade-offs that come with it.

Q: Is 2.5GbE worth paying more for than Gigabit?

Only when the rest of the path can exceed 1Gbps. A 2.5GbE dock connected to a Gigabit router, a Gigabit switch or a Gigabit NAS still moves data at Gigabit speed. If you already run a 2.5GbE switch or a multi-gigabit NAS, the upgrade is real. If you do not, the same budget buys better charging or a second display instead.

Q: Do I need a powered dock, or is a bus-powered hub enough?

A bus-powered hub draws its power from the laptop and handles Ethernet, USB peripherals and one display without a power supply. It can charge the laptop only if you attach a PD charger to its input, and it reserves roughly 15W for its own operation. A powered dock with its own supply delivers more charging, more USB bandwidth and multiple displays, and it keeps peripherals stable when several power-hungry devices are attached at once.

Q: Does a Thunderbolt 4 dock give 40Gbps to every port?

No. 40Gbps is the aggregate host link, shared among tunnelled PCIe, USB and DisplayPort traffic, and docks route internal controllers into shared bandwidth groups. The same principle applies to a hub advertised as 10Gbps: every USB port and the Ethernet port draw from one upstream budget, which is why several fast SSDs cannot all run at their standalone maximum simultaneously.

Q: What is the difference between native and DisplayLink displays?

Native DisplayPort Alt Mode and Thunderbolt displays are driven directly by the host GPU: no driver, no added latency, full HDCP support, and a hard cap at the host's display-engine count. DisplayLink creates virtual displays in software through DisplayLink Manager — requiring Screen Recording permission on macOS — which lets a machine exceed its native display count, at the cost of compression, millisecond-scale latency, HDCP limitations on its outputs, and one more component that a major OS update can disrupt.

Q: What happens to USB speed when Ethernet and a fast SSD run at the same time?

They share one upstream link. On a 10Gbps USB-C hub, a large NAS transfer over Ethernet and a simultaneous SSD copy both draw from the same 10Gbps budget, so neither reaches its standalone maximum. Thunderbolt docks raise the ceiling to a 40Gbps aggregate link, but the same principle holds: the budget is shared, not multiplied per port.

Conclusion

The Ethernet port is the specification most buyers add last and regret not checking first, because it is the one that cannot be fixed after purchase. Two decisions settle almost everything: whether the desk needs a pocket hub or a powered dock, and whether the display path should be native or DisplayLink-driven.

For a fixed desk on a Thunderbolt or USB4 host, the CalDigit TS4 remains the strongest all-round pick — 2.5GbE, native display paths, UHS-II card readers and 98W of charging, with no software between the laptop and the monitors. Where the machine genuinely cannot drive the displays in use, the Plugable UD-ULTC4K V2 and the Anker Prime DL7400 solve that specific problem, and the DL7400 adds 2.5GbE and 140W charging on top. For workstations on a multi-gigabit backbone, the CalDigit TS5 Plus is the only dock here with integrated 10GbE — provided the network on the other end justifies it. On the portable side, the UGREEN Revodok Pro 1061 covers the budget case, the Anker 555 adds card readers, and the Plugable USBC-10IN1E is the only travel hub that reaches 2.5GbE.

Two habits pay off regardless of which one you choose. Name the exact model and revision when buying — the UD-ULTC4K has two of them under one name, and older listings are still indexed. And test the Ethernet link after a sleep cycle in the first week, while returning is still easy.

Where to go next: the best docking stations covers the wider field, the best USB-C hubs handles the portable end of the market, and if you share one desk between two machines, the KVM switch guide for two computers and the dual-monitor KVM roundup explain which docks do the switching for you.

→ Check the current price of the CalDigit TS4 on Amazon

Share:

Article Topics

#usb c hub with ethernet#usb c hub ethernet#docking station ethernet#usb c hub with ethernet port#docking station with ethernet port#usb c hub ethernet hdmi

You might also like