Best USB-C Hubs with DisplayPort Output (2026)
Buying Guides

Best USB-C Hubs with DisplayPort Output (2026)

Which USB-C hub actually drives a DisplayPort monitor? Eight picks compared by native DP Alt Mode, MST and DisplayLink — plus the Mac limits you'll hit.

27 min read

Disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. We may earn a commission on qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you.

A USB-C hub with DisplayPort output can work in three fundamentally different ways: native DisplayPort Alt Mode passing your laptop's own GPU stream straight through, MST splitting that one stream into several independent desktops, or DisplayLink synthesizing extra screens in software. The rectangular socket looks identical in all three cases, which is why the hub-versus-dock distinction matters less here than the architecture hiding behind the port.

That architecture is the single most expensive thing to get wrong. Two buyers can spend the same money on hubs with the same HDMI-plus-DisplayPort layout and get opposite results: one extends three independent desktops on Windows, the other watches two external screens mirror each other on a MacBook. Neither hub is broken. The topology was simply never matched to the host.

This roundup covers eight current products that each solve a different part of that problem — a compact travel hub with a single DisplayPort socket, two Windows-oriented MST hubs at different refresh ceilings, a Thunderbolt desktop dock, a native multi-monitor Thunderbolt dock, a DisplayLink dock for Macs that cannot reach the monitor count natively, and one conditional budget DisplayLink pick. For each one you get the physical outputs, the display-path revision, the hard per-OS ceilings, and the difference between the charging number printed on the box and the number your laptop actually receives.

It is written for laptop owners who already know they want a DisplayPort monitor rather than another HDMI one: Windows users building a two- or three-screen desk, MacBook owners who have run into Apple's native display-engine limit, and travelers who need exactly one 4K60 screen and nothing more.

Quick Picks

Pick Best for Display architecture External displays
Anker 565 (A8388) Best overall native DisplayPort hub DP Alt Mode + MST 2 on Windows (laptop panel free); mirrored on macOS
UGREEN Revodok Pro 2111 High-refresh Windows DisplayPort DP Alt Mode + MST 2 on Windows; mirrored on macOS
CalDigit TS4 Desktop replacement, 2.5GbE, native Mac video Thunderbolt 4, native DP tunneling 2 native on dual-display-capable hosts; 1 on base M1/M2
Plugable TBT4-UDZ Native Windows multi-monitor Thunderbolt 4/USB4 + MST Up to 4× 4K60 on Windows; up to 2 on dual-display Macs
Plugable UD-ULTC4K MacBook needing more than native Native Alt Mode + DisplayLink DL-6950 Up to 3× 4K60, software-driven
UGREEN Revodok Pro 7-in-1 DP (75774) Compact single DisplayPort travel DP Alt Mode, single stream 1
Baseus 12-in-1 (WKSX030213) Budget Windows multiport desk DP Alt Mode + MST Up to 4 including the laptop panel on some DP 1.4 setups
Sabrent DS-UICA Conditional budget DisplayLink DisplayLink 2× 4K60

What Makes a Great USB-C Hub with DisplayPort Output?

The host port has to support DisplayPort Alt Mode before anything else matters. A hub can physically fit a laptop and produce no video at all if the USB-C port it is plugged into only carries data and power. Every native-video hub in this roundup — Anker, UGREEN, Baseus — treats host DP Alt Mode as a hard prerequisite, not a compatibility note. On Windows laptops this is usually documented in the spec sheet; on cheaper machines and on some USB-C tablets it simply is not there.

Then comes the question of what actually creates the second picture. Native Alt Mode carries one DisplayPort stream. MST splits that stream so Windows can extend across several monitors. Thunderbolt tunnels multiple independent native streams, which is why it works on Macs where MST does not. DisplayLink skips all of that and generates displays from USB data with a software encoder. These are not quality tiers — they are different mechanisms with different failure modes, and the wider hub market mixes them freely under identical marketing language.

DisplayPort revision and DSC set the real resolution ceiling. A hub rated for 4K60 on a DP 1.4 host path drops to 4K30 when the host itself is limited to DP 1.2 — same hub, same cable, different laptop. Anything above 4K60, including 4K120 and the 240Hz 1440p modes, additionally requires Display Stream Compression and a display that accepts the mode.

macOS behaves differently, and the hub cannot change that. Apple does not expose MST branches as separate extended desktops. An MST hub connected to a Mac therefore produces A+B+B: the laptop panel plus two external screens showing the same thing. Thunderbolt docks route around this by carrying native streams, but only as many as the Mac's own GPU can drive — a base M1 or M2 laptop remains a one-external-display machine no matter how many sockets the dock has.

Charging is described in two numbers, and only one of them reaches your laptop. A hub with a 100W PD input typically reserves 10–15W for its own operation and hands roughly 85W to the host. A powered dock with its own 230W supply can guarantee 98W regardless of what else is plugged in. The power delivery mechanics are worth understanding before buying a hub for a 16-inch workstation laptop.

Port counts are the last thing to check, not the first. The TBT4-UDZ has four physical monitor connectors; a Mac may use one or two. The UD-ULTC4K has six; they form three output groups you pick from. The Sabrent DS-UICA has four conventional video sockets and drives two screens. State the simultaneous display count, always.

#1 Anker 565 (A8388) — Best Overall Native DisplayPort Hub

Architecture: native DisplayPort Alt Mode with MST for the second external stream; no DisplayLink driver, no software layer.

  • Video outputs: 1× HDMI + 1× full-size DisplayPort.
  • Single display: 4K60 on a DP 1.4 host path; capped at 4K30 when the host chain is limited to DP 1.2.
  • Two external displays (Windows): up to 2560×1440 at 60Hz each on a DP 1.4 host, dropping to 1080p60 each on a DP 1.2 host — with the laptop panel still usable as a third desktop.
  • macOS: the HDMI and DisplayPort screens mirror one another, because the hub relies on MST for its second native output.
  • Charging: 100W PD input, maximum 85W delivered to the laptop; charger not included.
  • Data: 1× USB-C 10Gbps, 1× USB-A 10Gbps, 2× USB-A 480Mbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: Gigabit Ethernet, SD + microSD UHS-I up to 104MB/s, 3.5mm combo jack up to 24-bit/96kHz.

The 565 is the cleanest answer for a Windows laptop that needs two displays and refuses to install a display driver to get them. The full-size DisplayPort socket means no DP-to-HDMI dongle chain on the monitor side, the Ethernet and UHS-I reader cover a normal desk, and the audio jack runs at 24-bit/96kHz rather than the token output many hubs ship. The split between 10Gbps ports and 480Mbps ports is worth reading before you buy: two of the four USB-A ports are USB 2.0-class, fine for a keyboard, mouse or DAC, wrong for an external SSD.

Under sustained full load the 565 runs warm and has drawn scattered owner reports of USB stalls, brief monitor blackouts and audio dropouts on heavily loaded setups. Those reports are not evidence of a model-wide defect, but they point at the right diagnostics first: the host cable, the charger's power budget, firmware, and how much is drawing on the hub at once.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: full-size DisplayPort output; 4K60 single-display on DP 1.4 hosts; 10Gbps USB-C and USB-A ports; Gigabit Ethernet and card reader included; 2,560×1,440 dual-display ceiling is higher than most hubs in its class.

Cons: two of the four USB-A ports are 480Mbps; macOS mirrors the external screens; 85W maximum host charging rules it out for high-wattage workstation laptops; stability reports under heavy concurrent load.

Verdict: the best balance of display ceiling, port mix and price tier for a Windows laptop driving two external monitors over native DisplayPort and HDMI — provided your host is DP 1.4 and you accept 85W of charging.

Perfect for: a Windows ultrabook or developer laptop with two desk monitors, no dGPU, and no appetite for DisplayLink. More Anker hub options and model cross-references are covered in the brand guide.

#2 UGREEN Revodok Pro 2111 (SKU 55766) — Best High-Refresh DisplayPort Hub

Architecture: native DP Alt Mode plus MST; no DisplayLink.

  • Video outputs: 1× HDMI + 1× DisplayPort.
  • Single DisplayPort display: up to 4K120 when used alone, requiring a DP 1.4 + DSC-capable host, a compliant cable and a display that accepts the mode.
  • Dual external displays: HDMI + DP simultaneously up to 4K60 each per UGREEN's documentation; Windows extends them as separate desktops.
  • macOS: the two external screens duplicate one another through the MST path.
  • Variable refresh: the DisplayPort output carries no advertised VRR support.
  • Charging: 100W PD input with roughly 85W delivered to the laptop, the hub reserving up to 15W.
  • Data: 2× USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 at 10Gbps, 2× USB-A at 480Mbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: Gigabit Ethernet, SD + microSD/TF UHS-I up to 104MB/s, 3.5mm output up to 24-bit/192kHz.
  • Silicon: Genesys Logic GL3231 confirmed for the card-reader subsystem; primary display hub silicon undisclosed.
  • Compatibility: Windows and macOS supported, Linux explicitly unsupported, phones and tablets not recommended.

The 2111 exists for one scenario: a Windows machine with a DP 1.4 + DSC host path and a monitor that can actually take 4K120 or a high-refresh QHD mode over DisplayPort. In dual-display operation it settles at the more ordinary 4K60-per-screen ceiling, which is the same place most of this shortlist lands — you are paying the premium for the single-screen headroom, not for a better dual-display outcome. Note the USB mix: two fast USB-C ports but only 480Mbps USB-A, the reverse of what many desks assume.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: 4K120 single-display over DisplayPort; 10Gbps on both USB-C data ports; 24-bit/192kHz analog audio; Gigabit Ethernet and UHS-I reader onboard.

Cons: 4K120 depends on a DSC-capable host and display, not on the hub alone; no VRR; both USB-A ports are 480Mbps; Linux not supported; macOS mirrors the external screens.

Verdict: the shortlist pick for a Windows laptop whose real requirement is one very fast DisplayPort monitor, with a second screen as a secondary benefit rather than the point.

Perfect for: gaming-adjacent and high-refresh productivity setups on Windows, on a host that genuinely exposes DP 1.4 with DSC. The Ethernet-equipped hub and dock field covers the rest of that connectivity class.

#3 CalDigit TS4 — Best Desktop Replacement with Native DisplayPort

Architecture: powered Thunderbolt 4 dock carrying native, tunneled DisplayPort streams; no DisplayLink anywhere in the chain.

  • Physical video: 1× DisplayPort 1.4 output; a second native monitor attaches through a downstream Thunderbolt 4 / USB-C video path on hosts that support it.
  • Display ceiling: up to a single 8K display, or dual high-resolution monitors subject to host and GPU support — CalDigit documents modes as high as 4K144, 3440×1440 at 240Hz and 2560×1440 at 240Hz where host, display, DSC and cabling allow.
  • Mac limits: base M1/M2 systems remain limited to one native external display; Pro, Max and later base chips vary by model and operating mode.
  • Charging: 230W external power supply, up to 98W to the host, maintained independently of what the rest of the dock draws; 15W per downstream Thunderbolt 4 port and up to 20W on the front high-power USB-C.
  • Ports: 2× downstream Thunderbolt 4 (plus the host port), 3× USB-C 10Gbps, 5× USB-A 10Gbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: 2.5GbE, SD 4.0 UHS-II + microSD UHS-II, front 3.5mm combo plus rear audio input and output.
  • Compatibility: macOS 11.4+, Windows 10 20H2+, Thunderbolt 4/3, USB4 and reduced-function USB-C hosts.

This is the product you buy when the hub question is settled and the dock has to be the desk. Two and a half gigabit Ethernet, UHS-II readers on both card slots, ten 10Gbps USB ports and a genuine 98W charge budget from its own supply put it in a different category from every other entry here — as does the fact that its second display path is native rather than software-generated, which matters on a Mac with enough display engines to use it. A dual-display-capable MacBook Pro gets two independent native screens through Thunderbolt even though macOS does not support MST.

The recurring caution in owner discussions is sleep and wake behavior: monitors attached over DisplayPort occasionally failing to return from suspend, or USB, storage and audio devices disappearing and reappearing. Extremely high refresh modes can also fall back when several displays and peripherals share the dock's finite Thunderbolt bandwidth. Both are resume and bandwidth problems rather than incompatibility, but if you suspend and resume constantly with a lot of peripherals attached, budget for some firmware discipline.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: real 98W host charging from a 230W supply; 2.5GbE and dual UHS-II card readers; native Thunderbolt display transport with no graphics driver; ten 10Gbps USB ports; second display over native video rather than DisplayLink.

Cons: premium tier; a base M1/M2 Mac gains nothing in monitor count; Linux is not a core supported platform; documented post-suspend display and peripheral behavior.

Verdict: the most complete single-cable desk for a Thunderbolt laptop that needs fast networking, fast storage and native video — and one of the few docks that does not need DisplayLink to reach two displays on a capable Mac.

Perfect for: MacBook Pro/Pro-Max and premium Windows Thunderbolt users replacing a desktop, not adding a dongle. Full model lineage is in the CalDigit dock guide.

#4 Plugable TBT4-UDZ — Best Native Multi-Monitor Thunderbolt Dock

Architecture: native GPU video over Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 with MST on Windows; no DisplayLink and no graphics driver.

  • Physical outputs: 2× DisplayPort 1.2 + 2× HDMI 2.0, organized into output groups (one connector per group).
  • Windows ceiling: up to four 4K60 external displays on a Thunderbolt 4 / USB4 host providing DP 1.4 HBR3 + DSC bandwidth through the MST topology.
  • macOS ceiling: no MST support, so supported Macs use one output from each native video group — at most two 4K60 displays, and only where the Mac itself supports two native externals. Base M1/M2 remain at one.
  • USB-C-only hosts: Plugable warns USB data can drop from 10Gbps to 5Gbps and display support can fall as low as two 1080p60 screens depending on the host's DisplayPort implementation.
  • Charging: 135W external supply, 98W certified USB PD to the laptop.
  • Ports: front USB-A 480Mbps at 7.5W, front USB-A 10Gbps, rear USB-C 10Gbps at 7.5W, 2× rear USB-A 10Gbps, 2× rear USB-A 5Gbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: 2.5GbE, SD + microSD, integrated audio.
  • Driver: none for video — the host GPU's native pipeline does the work.

Where the 2111 is about one fast panel, the TBT4-UDZ is about count. Four 4K60 desktops on a suitably equipped Windows Thunderbolt 4 machine is a genuine quad-monitor workstation, and it gets there without any software graphics layer, HDCP caveats or Screen Recording permissions. Add 2.5GbE and 98W certified charging from the included 135W supply and the desk is complete from one cable.

The thing to internalize is the group structure. Four sockets do not mean four Mac displays; on macOS you use one connector per native video group, so two displays maximum, and only on a Mac that supports two natively. Plugable states plainly that this dock does not use DisplayLink and cannot lift the base M1/M2 one-display limit — which is exactly why it is the right Mac choice for owners who already have dual native output and the wrong one for owners who don't.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: up to four 4K60 extended desktops on Windows; no DisplayLink software, permissions or DRM limitations; 2.5GbE; 98W certified host charging; seven USB ports with sensible speed tiers.

Cons: no downstream Thunderbolt port for chaining, unlike the TS4; macOS capped at two displays and only on capable Macs; USB-C-only hosts lose data speed and display capability.

Verdict: the reference native multi-monitor dock — maximum extended-desktop count on Windows, honest limits on macOS, and no software graphics layer to troubleshoot.

Perfect for: Windows Thunderbolt 4/USB4 workstations driving three or four screens, and MacBook Pro owners with dual native display support who want to avoid DisplayLink. See the Thunderbolt 4 dock field and Thunderbolt 4 versus USB4 behavior for the surrounding trade-offs.

#5 Plugable UD-ULTC4K — Best for Macs That Need More Displays Than the GPU Allows

Architecture: hybrid. Display group 1 runs on native DP Alt Mode; groups 2 and 3 are driven by a Synaptics DisplayLink DL-6950, which is what lets the dock exceed a MacBook's native external-monitor count.

  • Physical outputs: 3× DisplayPort 1.2 + 3× HDMI 2.0 arranged as three groups; use one connector from each group.
  • Maximum: up to three 4K60 external displays on a suitably configured host. If the host's native Alt Mode link is DP 1.2, the native group can fall to 4K30 while the DisplayLink groups stay at 4K60.
  • Mac support: creates additional USB graphics displays beyond what the Apple GPU natively drives — a software workaround, not extra GPU engines.
  • Charging: 135W external supply, up to 100W laptop charging / 96W certified.
  • Ports: host link up to 10Gbps; front USB-C 10Gbps with up to 20W device charging; 4× USB-A 5Gbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: Gigabit Ethernet, SD reader, separate audio line-out and line-in.
  • Software: DisplayLink Manager 16.2 (released July 17, 2026) supports macOS Tahoe 26, Sequoia 15 and Sonoma 14; macOS requires Screen Recording permission because the software captures the pixels sent to the DisplayLink hardware.
  • DRM caveat: on macOS, protected streams from services such as Netflix, Disney+ and Prime Video can render as a black screen while a DisplayLink display is active.
  • Compatibility: Windows 10/11, macOS 11+ including Apple Silicon, ChromeOS 100+; Linux not officially supported.

For a MacBook Air or a base-chip MacBook Pro where the entire problem is "the machine will only drive one external monitor," this is the practical answer. Three 4K60 screens on an M-series laptop that officially supports one is a real capability jump, and office work — documents, code, dashboards — is exactly the workload DisplayLink handles well.

The cost is a software layer you now own. Screen Recording permission, a driver that must survive OS updates, a login-screen caveat under FileVault, and a black-screen result on DRM-protected playback. Rapidly moving content can also show a slight image-quality penalty compared to native output, and the USB graphics path is a poor fit for gaming. Owner reports on Apple Silicon describe occasional reconnects and a third monitor sometimes needing a restart — the honest framing is that DisplayLink adds a second thing that can go wrong, not that the dock is unreliable.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: three 4K60 displays on Macs that support fewer natively; one native video group in addition to the two DisplayLink groups; 2.5GbE-class wired networking; up to 100W charging; officially covers Windows, macOS and ChromeOS.

Cons: DisplayLink driver and Screen Recording permission required; DRM-protected playback can black out; not suitable for gaming or latency-sensitive work; Linux unsupported; extra failure surface compared with native video.

Verdict: the best available route to three external displays on a base-chip MacBook, as long as you accept a software graphics layer with documented caveats.

Perfect for: MacBook Air and base M-series MacBook Pro owners whose monitor count is the actual constraint. The DisplayLink dock comparison covers the chipset generations in more detail.

#6 UGREEN Revodok Pro 7-in-1 (SKU 75774) — Best Compact Single-DisplayPort Hub

Architecture: direct native DP Alt Mode, single video stream. With one physical video connector there is no MST or DisplayLink involved at all.

  • Video output: 1× full-size DisplayPort; no HDMI.
  • Resolution and refresh: up to 4K60, with lower-resolution modes documented up to 1440p144 and 1080p240.
  • Host requirements: a DP 1.4-capable host path for 4K60; a DP 1.2 host is capped at 4K30.
  • Conversion caveat: the DisplayPort output does not support passive DP-to-HDMI conversion — an active converter is required if your monitor only has HDMI.
  • Charging: 100W PD input, 85W maximum to the laptop.
  • Data: 2× USB-C 10Gbps, 1× USB-A 10Gbps, 1× USB-A 480Mbps.
  • Network: Gigabit Ethernet.
  • Cards and audio: none.
  • Compatible devices: MacBook Pro/Air, Dell XPS/Latitude, Steam Deck, ROG Ally, recent iPads and recent USB-C iPhones, subject to host video support.

The value of this hub is what it refuses to do. One DisplayPort monitor, one native stream, no MST branch that can mirror unexpectedly, no DisplayLink driver, no group logic to decode. It is the correct purchase for the traveler or the handheld-console owner who wants exactly one 4K60 panel and a wired network connection, and it sidesteps the single most common multi-monitor disappointment on this list entirely.

The trade-offs are structural rather than accidental: no card reader, no audio jack, and a hard stop at one external screen. Check the DP++ limitation before buying if your destination display is HDMI-only — a passive adapter cable will not work here.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: full-size DisplayPort at 4K60 on DP 1.4 hosts; two 10Gbps USB-C ports; Gigabit Ethernet in a compact body; single-display topology removes every MST and DisplayLink failure mode.

Cons: no HDMI output and no passive DP-to-HDMI support; one display only; no card reader or audio; 85W maximum host charging.

Verdict: the cleanest single-monitor DisplayPort hub in the shortlist — buy it for simplicity, not for expandability.

Perfect for: travelers, Steam Deck and ROG Ally owners, and anyone pairing a laptop with one 4K60 DisplayPort monitor. Compare against the wider DisplayPort-equipped dock field if you may need a second screen later.

#7 Baseus 12-in-1 (WKSX030213) — Best Budget Windows Multiport Hub

Architecture: native DP Alt Mode with MST for multiple independent Windows displays; no DisplayLink.

  • Video outputs: 2× HDMI + 1× DisplayPort.
  • Individual output ceiling: 4K60 from an HDMI or DisplayPort output when the other video outputs are idle and the host provides sufficient DP 1.4 bandwidth.
  • Multiple displays: Baseus advertises up to four total displays including the laptop panel on some AMD / DP 1.4 configurations, and fewer on Intel configurations. The simultaneous resolution-and-refresh matrix with every connector active is not documented clearly enough to assume three external 4K60 screens.
  • macOS: Baseus itself shows the external monitors carrying identical content in a multi-output Mac setup — effectively A+B+B+B.
  • Charging: dedicated USB-C PD port rated at 100W; the official material does not separate adapter input from the net wattage delivered to the laptop.
  • Data: 3× USB-A 3.0 + 1× USB-C 3.0 at 5Gbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: Gigabit Ethernet, SD + microSD/TF, 3.5mm.

Three video connectors, a full USB stack, Ethernet and a card reader cover a lot of desk for the money, and on Windows the MST path delivers genuinely separate extended desktops. That is the whole case for the 12-in-1: it is the cheapest way on this list to get three video sockets in one hub.

Set expectations on the video side. Individual outputs reach 4K60 only when the others are idle, so three simultaneously active screens will not be three 4K60 desktops. A February 2026 owner report described failing to reach 144Hz and being told by Baseus support that the product is a 60Hz-class design, which matches the official 4K60 positioning — treat this as a multi-monitor productivity hub, not a high-refresh solution. Reports of display blanking or reconnect behavior exist across macOS and Linux configurations but conflict, and the more useful explanation is host DP bandwidth and MST implementation rather than a universal defect.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: three physical video outputs; Gigabit Ethernet plus card reader and audio; 5Gbps USB throughout; broad laptop compatibility.

Cons: simultaneous multi-display resolution matrix not documented; 60Hz-class behavior; net host charging wattage unspecified; macOS mirrors the external outputs; exact Amazon.com listing not verifiable, so the link above is a tagged search.

Verdict: a competitive budget Windows desk hub with an unusually broad port set, held back by incomplete multi-display documentation and no high-refresh story.

Perfect for: a Windows desk on a tight budget where three video sockets and a full port stack matter more than refresh rate. Broader context in the general dock roundup.

#8 Sabrent DS-UICA — Conditional Budget DisplayLink Pick

Architecture: DisplayLink. Sabrent publishes a DisplayLink graphics software download for the DS-UICA; the exact Synaptics controller inside is not disclosed.

  • Video outputs: 2× DisplayPort 1.4 + 2× HDMI 2.0.
  • Maximum: two simultaneous external displays at up to 4K60 each, in DP/DP, DP/HDMI, HDMI/DP or HDMI/HDMI combinations. The rear USB-C port can provide video in tandem with the right-hand video group.
  • Data: 2× USB-C 3.2 Gen 2 at 10Gbps, 2× USB-A 3.2 Gen 1 at 5Gbps, 2× USB-A at 480Mbps.
  • Network, cards, audio: Gigabit Ethernet, SD + microSD UHS-I up to 104MB/s, three 3.5mm connections covering audio out, mic and combo.
  • Power: included 120W (20V/6A) AC adapter; the certified host-charging wattage is not stated in Sabrent's current specification text.
  • Compatibility: marketed for USB-C laptops, Macs and Chromebooks; cross-OS parity for Windows, macOS, ChromeOS, Linux and iPadOS is documented less rigorously than the Plugable compatibility tables.

Two DisplayPort 1.4 sockets and two HDMI sockets in a powered dock with a 120W supply and three analog audio connections is a specific combination you won't find elsewhere at this tier — and on a MacBook that needs a second screen beyond its native limit, the DisplayLink path will deliver it.

It sits at the bottom of this list for a documentation reason rather than a capability one. Sabrent confirms the DisplayLink architecture but not the controller, confirms the 120W adapter but not the net charging figure handed to the laptop, and publishes nothing close to the per-OS compatibility matrix that Plugable maintains. That thin validation record, plus the fact that DisplayLink carries all the same software, permission and DRM caveats described in the UD-ULTC4K section, makes this a pick to choose deliberately for its physical DP 1.4 connectors rather than as a default.

Check price on Amazon

Pros: two DisplayPort 1.4 plus two HDMI sockets; 10Gbps USB-C data ports; 120W included power supply; three analog audio connections; works around native Mac display limits.

Cons: host charging wattage undocumented; DisplayLink driver and permissions required; DRM playback can black out on macOS; compatibility across Linux and iPadOS unproven; thinnest documentation of the eight.

Verdict: a capable budget DisplayLink dock for users who specifically want two DisplayPort sockets, bought with the understanding that its validation trail is shorter than its competitors'.

Perfect for: budget-conscious multi-monitor MacBook users who value physical DP 1.4 outputs over documented cross-OS parity. See the triple and quad monitor dock comparison for higher-count alternatives.

Comparison Table

Model Architecture Physical video Max external displays macOS outcome Host charging
Anker 565 DP Alt Mode + MST 1× HDMI + 1× DP 2 (Windows, DP 1.4 host) External screens mirror 85W from 100W input
UGREEN Revodok Pro 2111 DP Alt Mode + MST 1× HDMI + 1× DP 2 (Windows) External screens mirror ~85W from 100W input
CalDigit TS4 Thunderbolt 4 native 1× DP 1.4 + downstream TB4 video 2 native on capable hosts Native streams where the GPU supports them 98W from 230W PSU
Plugable TBT4-UDZ Thunderbolt 4/USB4 + MST 2× DP 1.2 + 2× HDMI 2.0 Up to 4× 4K60 (Windows) Up to 2, dual-display Macs only 98W certified from 135W PSU
Plugable UD-ULTC4K Native Alt Mode + DisplayLink DL-6950 3× DP 1.2 + 3× HDMI 2.0 (3 groups) Up to 3× 4K60 Bypasses native limit via software 100W / 96W certified from 135W PSU
UGREEN Revodok Pro 7-in-1 DP 75774 DP Alt Mode, single stream 1× DP 1 Single native display 85W from 100W input
Baseus 12-in-1 DP Alt Mode + MST 2× HDMI + 1× DP Up to 4 including laptop panel on some DP 1.4 hosts External screens mirror 100W PD port, net value unspecified
Sabrent DS-UICA DisplayLink 2× DP 1.4 + 2× HDMI 2.0 2× 4K60 Bypasses native limit via software 120W adapter, host value unspecified

Which USB-C Hub with DisplayPort Should You Buy?

Two monitors on a Windows laptop, no drivers, no fuss: the Anker 565. Native DisplayPort plus HDMI at up to 2560×1440 each on a DP 1.4 host, with Ethernet and a card reader included.

One very fast DisplayPort monitor on Windows: the UGREEN Revodok Pro 2111, provided your host exposes DP 1.4 with DSC and your display accepts 4K120. Without both, its advantage disappears and the Anker 565 is the better spend.

MacBook that cannot reach the monitor count you need: the Plugable UD-ULTC4K. Three 4K60 screens on a base-chip Mac is the whole proposition; accept the DisplayLink driver, the Screen Recording permission and the DRM blackout caveat.

MacBook with dual native display support, or a Windows Thunderbolt workstation: the Plugable TBT4-UDZ. Four 4K60 desktops on Windows, two on a capable Mac, and no software graphics layer at all.

A full desk from one cable — fast network, fast storage, guaranteed charging: the CalDigit TS4. 2.5GbE, dual UHS-II readers, 98W held constant from its own 230W supply. The Mac and MacBook dock shortlist is the right next read if you are pairing it with Apple hardware.

One DisplayPort screen, ideally in a bag: the UGREEN Revodok Pro 7-in-1 (75774). No MST, no driver, no group logic, 4K60 and Gigabit Ethernet.

Three video sockets on a budget, Windows only: the Baseus 12-in-1. Just don't expect three simultaneous 4K60 desktops or high refresh.

Two DisplayPort sockets on a budget for a Mac: the Sabrent DS-UICA, chosen deliberately for the connectors rather than for documentation depth.

And the rule that overrides every one of these picks: confirm the host port supports DisplayPort Alt Mode, confirm the DP revision your laptop actually exposes, and confirm how many native external displays your Mac's chip supports before blaming the dock. For two-screen Windows desks specifically, the dual-monitor dock comparison works through those host limits in more depth.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Will a USB-C hub with DisplayPort output work on any laptop with a USB-C port?

No. The host port must support DisplayPort Alt Mode, which is a separate optional feature from USB data and charging. A hub can fit a USB-C socket perfectly and produce no video because the laptop never had a video-capable port to begin with. Check the laptop's specification sheet rather than the connector shape.

Q: Why do both external monitors show the same thing on my MacBook?

Because the hub is splitting one DisplayPort stream with MST, and macOS does not expose MST branches as separate extended desktops — so they mirror. This is host behavior, not a hub fault. To get independent Mac displays you need either a Thunderbolt dock carrying multiple native streams from a Mac that supports them, or DisplayLink software graphics.

Q: Is DisplayLink worse than native DisplayPort?

It is different rather than worse. DisplayLink generates displays from USB data with a software encoder, which lets a Mac exceed its native display-engine limit. The costs are a required driver, Screen Recording permission on macOS, a slight image-quality penalty on fast-moving content, and black screens on DRM-protected playback while a DisplayLink screen is active. For office work it is practical; for gaming it is the wrong tool.

Q: What is the difference between MST and DisplayLink?

MST splits one native DisplayPort stream into multiple independent desktops on Windows and ChromeOS — no driver, no software. DisplayLink creates brand-new displays from USB data using software, and works where MST cannot, including macOS. A dock can use both at once, as the Plugable UD-ULTC4K does with one native group and two DisplayLink groups.

Q: Can a USB-C hub with DisplayPort output run 4K120?

Only when the entire chain supports it: a DP 1.4 host with Display Stream Compression, a compliant cable, and a display that accepts the mode. The same hub on a laptop limited to DP 1.2 tops out at 4K30 for a single screen. High refresh is a property of the host path plus the hub, never of the hub alone.

Q: A hub says 100W PD input — does my laptop get 100W?

Almost never on a bus-powered hub. Compact hubs reserve roughly 10–15W for their own operation, so a 100W input typically delivers around 85W to the laptop. Powered docks behave differently because they draw from their own supply: the CalDigit TS4 provides up to 98W from its 230W adapter, and the Plugable TBT4-UDZ provides 98W certified from a 135W supply.

Q: Do I need a Thunderbolt laptop to use a DisplayPort hub?

No. Native DP Alt Mode hubs work over plain USB-C, provided the port carries video. Thunderbolt matters when you need multiple independent native display streams, guaranteed high-wattage charging, or a downstream Thunderbolt chain — that is the point at which a USB-C hub stops being the right category and a Thunderbolt dock starts.

Q: Why does my dock have four monitor connectors but my Mac only drives one or two?

Because connector count and simultaneous display count are different numbers. The Mac's GPU sets the ceiling on native display streams, and no dock can manufacture extra display engines. Only DisplayLink-style software graphics can go beyond that ceiling, which is exactly why the UD-ULTC4K reaches three screens on a base-chip Mac while the native-video TBT4-UDZ stops at one.

Conclusion

The DisplayPort socket is the least informative part of a USB-C hub. What decides the outcome is which mechanism produces the second picture — native Alt Mode for one stream, MST to split it on Windows, Thunderbolt to carry several native streams where MST is unavailable, DisplayLink to manufacture displays in software. Match that mechanism to your host and the rest of the shopping list falls into place.

The Anker 565 remains the default recommendation for a Windows laptop with two desk monitors: a full-size DisplayPort output, up to 2560×1440 per external screen on a DP 1.4 host, Gigabit Ethernet, a card reader and a real 24-bit/96kHz audio path, with the honest limitations of 85W charging and mirrored external screens on macOS. Step up to the UGREEN Revodok Pro 2111 only if you have a DSC-capable host and a monitor that can use 4K120. Step up to the CalDigit TS4 or the Plugable TBT4-UDZ when the desk itself is the product — 2.5GbE, fast card readers, guaranteed charging, and native video that needs no driver. And step sideways to the Plugable UD-ULTC4K or the Sabrent DS-UICA only when a Mac's native display limit is the actual obstacle, with eyes open about the software layer that comes with the fix.

Before you order anything, verify three things in this order: that your USB-C port carries DisplayPort Alt Mode, whether your host path is DP 1.2 or DP 1.4 with DSC, and how many native external displays your machine supports. Those three answers eliminate most of this list for you.

If you are still deciding between a compact hub and a powered dock, start with hub versus docking station and the beginner's guide to what a docking station actually does, then compare the full dock shortlist or the Plugable lineup once you know which category you belong in.

→ Check the current price of the Anker 565 on Amazon

Share:

Article Topics

#usb c hub with displayport#usb-c hub displayport output#displayport alt mode hub#mst hub dual monitor#displaylink dock macbook

You might also like